Stage set for 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Draw

Sixteen top CONCACAF clubs will learn their first-round opponents at the gala event in Miami on December 18

MIAMI – CONCACAF confirmed Wednesday the programming for the official draw of the re-formatted 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League (SCCL), the region’s premier club championship, featuring representatives from eight CONCACAF Member nations. 

The event will take place on Monday, December 18, at 7:00 pm ET, featuring coaches from participating clubs, as well as celebrity guests from the world of international football.  It will be conducted live from Univision Studios in Miami, Florida, and will be televised on Univision Deportes Network, Fox Sports Latin America and other rights partner networks throughout the Confederation.

The sixteen clubs qualified are (in alphabetical order by country): Toronto FC (Canada); CS Herediano (CRC), Deportivo Saprissa (Costa Rica); Cibao FC (Dominican Republic); Santa Tecla FC (El Salvador), CD Olimpia, FC Motagua (Honduras), CD Guadalajara, Club America, Club Tijuana, Tigres UANL (Mexico); Tauro FC (Panama); Colorado Rapids, FC Dallas, New York Red Bulls and Seattle Sounders FC (USA).

The clubs will be drawn into eight Round of 16 pairings, with play kicking off in February.

- Q&A: Club Index for 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Draw

The 2018 edition of the CONCACAF Champions League will be the first to feature the newly developed, action-packed knockout style, home-and-away format, which will demand the highest level of performance from the participating clubs from the start.  The championship will progress swiftly with quarterfinal, semifinal and final rounds in the months of March and April.

The draw -- to be executed by CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio, with the assistance of a range of former Champions League stars from across the Confederation -- will use a double-blind system involving four pots -- two “Club Pots” and two “Bracket Position Pots”.  The two “Club Pots” will each contain eight of the participating clubs, while the other two “Bracket Position Pots” will contain the sixteen possible positions for the participating clubs.

Based on the new CONCACAF Club Index, which ranks clubs based on the performance of the countries over the last five editions of the Champions League, the clubs will be distributed as follows (in alphabetical order by country):

Pot 1: Toronto FC (CAN); CD Guadalajara (MEX); Club America (MEX); Tigres UANL (MEX); Club Tijuana (MEX); FC Dallas (USA); New York Red Bulls (USA); Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

Pot 2: Deportivo Saprissa (CRC); CS Herediano (CRC*); Cibao FC (DOM); FC Motagua (HON); Club Deportivo Olimpia (HON); Tauro FC (PAN); Santa Tecla FC (SLV); Colorado Rapids (USA)

*Wildcard club which entered the competition following the disqualification of Guatemala’s participant.

Draw Team Pots

The “Bracket Position Pots” (A and B) will contain the bracket positions:

Pot A: A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7, A8
Pot B: B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6, B7, B8

More information on the CONCACAF Club Index is available here.

The draw will begin when the first club is selected from Pot 1, followed by a bracket position from Pot A. Once the position for all the clubs from Pot 1 has been drawn, using Pot A, clubs from Pot 2 will be drawn using the same procedure and Pot B. Each first round pairing will feature one team from each pot. Additionally, clubs from the same Member Association cannot face each other in the first round.

For the Round of 16, clubs drawn from Pot 1 will play away first, and host the return matches. The winners of matchups number 1, 3, 5 and 7, will host the return leg of the quarterfinals and will face the winners of matchups 2, 4, 6 and 8 respectively. 

For the semifinals, the initial bracket will determine the matchups. Additionally, clubs will be ranked per their performance in the Round of 16 and the quarterfinals, using the competition’s tie-breaking procedure. The highest ranked club in each semifinal matchup will host the 2nd leg matches. The same aggregate performance  procedure will be applied to determine who will host the second leg Final. Detailed information can be found in the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Regulations.

Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2018 Match Date Windows

Round of 16: February 20-22 and February 27- March 1, 2018
Quarterfinals: March 6-8 and March 13-15, 2018
Semifinals: April 3-5 and April 10-12, 2018
Finals: April 17-19 and April 24-26, 2018


Champions League
Mendoza making most of chance at Club Tijuana
Champions League
SCCL 2018: Five young footballers to watch
Champions League
Martin thrives at Club America
Champions League
CCC2018 Video: W Connection’s Charles-Fevrier reacts to setback, looks to future
Champions League
Schmetzer has Seattle Sounders FC thinking SCCL